PDA

View Full Version : Linker problem

vels
7th April 2010, 16:16
Hi All,

I am new to Qt, got Qt-4.5 commercial version installed on my SUSE 10.0 box

Now I am doing a feasibility study on compiling qt application by hand and not relying on qmake (its more clumsy and difficult to understand)

In QT installation, under /examples/widgets directory i am trying to build calculator executable sample

Step 1 - Compiling
Compiled the sample using the following compile options
g++ -c -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.0/mkspecs/linux-g++-64 -I. -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.0/include/QtCore -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.0/include/QtGui -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.0/include -I. calculator.cpp main.cpp button.cpp

Step 2 - Linking
When the object files are linked with Qt libraries I am getting 'undefined references'.
-linker options:
g++ -m64 -Wl,-rpath,/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.0/lib -o calculator button.o calculator.o main.o -L/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.0/lib -lQtGui -lQtCore -L/usr/X11R6/lib64 -pthread -lpthread

Linker error reported:
button.o: In function `Button::Button(QString const&, QWidget*)':
button.cpp: (.text+0x91): undefined reference to `vtable for Button'
button.cpp: (.text+0x9d): undefined reference to `vtable for Button'
button.o: In function `Button::Button(QString const&, QWidget*)':
button.cpp: (.text+0x113): undefined reference to `vtable for Button'
button.cpp: (.text+0x11f): undefined reference to `vtable for Button'
calculator.o: In function `Calculator::Calculator(QWidget*)':
calculator.cpp: (.text+0x141a): undefined reference to `vtable for Calculator'
calculator.cpp: (.text+0x1429): undefined reference to `vtable for Calculator'
calculator.o: In function `Calculator::Calculator(QWidget*)':
calculator.cpp: (.text+0x256e): undefined reference to `vtable for Calculator'
calculator.cpp: (.text+0x257d): undefined reference to `vtable for Calculator'
calculator.o: In function `Calculator::tr(char const*, char const*)':