PDA

View Full Version : Problems to compile (Unicode)

valy12
9th April 2010, 13:16
Hello,

i'm new in QT and i don't know many things about it so i need your help ^^
i'm trying to compile the library "wiiyourself" with QT but i have few problems. it runs on visual c++ but not on QT.
the principal problem is "error: cannot convert 'const char*' to 'const TCHAR*' ..."
i have heard that it's about Unicode wich isn't support by QT but how can i solve it?

(excuse my language i'm not english :s )

Thanks!

kuzulis
9th April 2010, 13:38
1. What use function WinApi?

To solve this problem - see the source code in Qt4 and look where macros type QT_WA ;)

toutarrive
9th April 2010, 14:20
i have heard that it's about Unicode wich isn't support by QT but how can i solve it?
Qt does support Unicode coding, it's even a foundation of QString!

TCHAR is a typedef from Microsoft which can be expand to the following:

#ifdef UNICODE
typedef wchar_t TCHAR;
#else
typedef char TCHAR;
#endif
TCHAR is char when you compile for multi-byte and wchar_t for unicode.

it runs on visual c++ but not on QT
It should as it is a typedef from Microsoft.

"the principal problem is "error: cannot convert 'const char*' to 'const TCHAR*' ..."
It means that you are using , at least, one function which needs at least one const TCHAR* as an argument.
As far as i know , TCHAR is not defined in Qt so you have to do the proper conversion by yourself for those functions which needs this argument type.

borisbn
9th April 2010, 14:45
show us code, that brings "error: cannot convert 'const char*' to 'const TCHAR*' ..."

valy12
9th April 2010, 15:13
i can't use winapi, it's for a school project and i have to use qt...

i tried tu put in my code the definition of UNICODE that you give me but it has errors at the same place : cannot convert 'const char*' to 'const wchar_t*' in initialization

i give you 2 examples of fonctions wich give errors :