PDA

View Full Version : Creating thread for each function of a class

Astrologer
17th April 2010, 09:20
Hi there. I'm just a beginner in Qt and I have been wrapping my head about this question for quite a while. Could you please help me out?

I have got a class, named, let's say,

class BaseClass: public Thread
I have a bunch of functions and I want each function to run in a separate thread. All information I have stumbled across so far claims that if I want to run a function in a separate thread I have to create a class

class Thread: public QThread
that inherits QThread and override QThread::run() function. But I hope there is another solution apart from creating a class which inherits QThread for each function in BaseClass. I would appreciate any ideas on this. Thank you so much in advance.

Lykurg
17th April 2010, 09:25
See QtConcurrentRun/QtConcurrent::run(),

Astrologer
17th April 2010, 09:33
Thank you, it is exactly what I was craving for:)

Astrologer
19th April 2010, 17:29
#include "mainwindow.h"
#include "ui_mainwindow.h"

MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent) :
QMainWindow(parent),
ui(new Ui::MainWindow)
{
ui->setupUi(this);

connect(this->ui->button1, SIGNAL(clicked()), this, SLOT(startThread()));
}

MainWindow::~MainWindow()
{
delete ui;
}

void MainWindow::changeEvent(QEvent *e)
{
QMainWindow::changeEvent(e);
switch (e->type()) {
case QEvent::LanguageChange:
ui->retranslateUi(this);
break;
default:
break;
}
}

void MainWindow::startThread()
{
QFuture<void> f1 = QtConcurrent::run(mbox);
f1.waitForFinished();
}

void mbox()
{
for (int i=0; i < 100000; i++)
{
qDebug() << i;
}
}

After this, GUI dies. I don't know what to do with it. Furthermore, there is a limit of input arguments, which is 5. What am I to do if there has to be more than that? Might the problem of hanging be in using f1.waitForFinished()?

Lykurg
19th April 2010, 17:49