PDA

View Full Version : Creating documents from Qt

GrahamLabdon
23rd April 2010, 08:28
Hi all
I am working on a project where we need to produce documents (in a platform independent way) from data held withing the application.
Does anyone have any recomendations on how this can be achieved?

TIA

Graham

Lykurg
23rd April 2010, 08:43
What kind of documents? TXT files are platform independent;) No seriously, why not using pdf for that?

EDIT: For pdf use a QPainter on a QPrinter and save that as pdf.

GrahamLabdon
23rd April 2010, 08:49
Hi - thanks for replying
Forgive my ignorance, I am completely new to QT.
I am currently redesigning/rewriting an exiting MS application to use QT so we can take advantage of platform and language independence that QT offers.
Currently the application produces a simplistic plain text document, but our customers want a professional looking document- currently they use our data to produce a MS Word document.

How easy is it to produce a PDF document? (how does one do it)?
Is there an advantage to using something like ODF? (would our customers be able to read the document)

TIA
Graham

Lykurg
23rd April 2010, 08:57
Well it depends what your customer want to do with the document. If don't want to change it, I would go for pdf, since then it is guaranteed, that it look everywhere the same and you can store the document a long time. If you want to change values then of course go for odf. But it sounds like your costumer only wants something to print out.

For pdf there are some examples, but effectively it is nothing else than painting (using QPainter) on a defined piece of paper where you have to positioning the elements. One nice thing is that you can also use a QTextDocument for more advanced text documents and print it directly using QTextDocument::print().

Lykurg
23rd April 2010, 09:02
I don't know if you have found that: http://doc.trolltech.com/qq/qq27-odfwriter.html. It's an good article for starting. Even if it is for odt.