PDA

View Full Version : Circular wrapping of QListWidget items - how to?

slscripters
21st May 2010, 13:58
Hi,

Is a QListWidget capable of a somewhat circular wrapping of items? When selection is at the end of the list and down key is pressed selection will immediately be set to the first item, and vice versa?

I'm a Qt newbie and I can't find a function with this behavior (if there's any) in any Qt documentation :(. If there's none, can you please suggest some ideas? Thank you in advance! :)

JD2000
21st May 2010, 14:40
I think that the closest QT has to offer out of the box is QLinkedList

You can use the hasNext() and hasPrevious() to test if you have reached the end of the list
and first() or last() to traverse it accordingly.

slscripters
24th May 2010, 03:50
Hi,

I think that the closest QT has to offer out of the box is QLinkedList

I think QLinkedList is just a container and doesn't draw something on the screen? Or can this be embedded in the QListWidget? Please guide me on your idea.

One way I've thought about is to catch a signal that can be emitted when down/up key is pressed to change the current row of the QListWidget. However, when the current row is at the first/last item of the list, current row doesn't change anymore even if down/up key is pressed.

Please help.:confused:

aamer4yu
24th May 2010, 06:31
You can do 2 things - either install an event filter on the QListWidget or subclass it and override the keyPressEvent.
When you get a key press event for down arrow key, check the index of the current item, and if its last, set current item to first index.

You can also override QListView::moveCursor and call the base class moveCursor first, then check if its first or last, and then modify the index to return as you wish .

Hope you get the idea :)

slscripters
25th May 2010, 15:32
Hi,

subclass it and override the keyPressEvent

I've chose this method. My implementation iis somewhat like a hack but it makes sense though.