PDA

View Full Version : Beginner level program not working



Nishant
8th June 2010, 15:49
Hello all,
my program which i have attatched gives compile output as:
Makefile.Debug:147: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/art.o'
Makefile.Debug:165: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/of.o'
Makefile.Debug:150: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/of.o'
Makefile.Debug:168: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/building.o'
Makefile.Debug:153: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/building.o'
Makefile.Debug:171: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/Qt.o'
Makefile.Debug:156: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/Qt.o'
Makefile.Debug:174: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/ByteConverterDialog.o'
Makefile.Debug:159: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/ByteConverterDialog.o'
mingw32-make[1]: *** No rule to make target `e:/data/Ebukz/Qt/art', needed by `debug/art.o'. Stop.
mingw32-make: *** [debug] Error 2
Exited with code 2.
Error while building project Byteconverter
When executing build step 'Make'


can someone please look into it and help me with it?
Thanks

tbscope
8th June 2010, 16:23
This is your .pro file


SOURCES += main.cpp \
E:/data/Ebukz/Qt/art \
of \
building \
Qt \
apps/examples/chapter02/byteConverter/ByteConverterDialog.cpp \
E:/data/Ebukz/Qt/art \
of \
building \
Qt \
apps/examples/chapter02/byteConverter/ByteConverterDialog.cpp \
BCD.cpp
HEADERS += BCD.h

It contains a lot of errors.
Add at least this line:
TEMPLATE = app

And remove those strange lines pointing to code you're not using.

Nishant
8th June 2010, 17:23
i never used this command in .PRO file.could you please explain it in details..and even after adding that it does not work..which strange lines do you mean;acc. to me all lines are needed.
Thanks

tbscope
8th June 2010, 17:29
i never used this command in .PRO file.could you please explain it in details..
Sure:
http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.6/qmake-manual.html


acc. to me all lines are needed.
Let me NOT do that and try for yourself first. I'm not your personal slave.
I will help you and give you better responses if you show you tried something yourself.
In other words, show your pro file after you've changed it and I'll tell you where you're wrong.

Nishant
8th June 2010, 18:01
Dats kewl...thanks

Nishant
10th June 2010, 12:47
Well,
I did read the qmake manual.Got some details on adding HEADERS,SOURCES etc.But did not find anything particular relating to my application.And could you please tell,in my earlier small examples i didn't use
TEMPLATE=app ;then how did they work?
Thanks

wysota
10th June 2010, 13:38
Please have a close look at the contents of SOURCES variable in the project file. Do you really have a file called "of" on your disk?

Default template is "app" so you don't have to insert it explicitely in your project.

Nishant
10th June 2010, 18:28
Thanks;actually i was just trying an example from a book... just copy pasted it..and that of file came by.

wysota
10th June 2010, 19:44
just copy pasted it..and that of file came by.
I don't think you did that correctly. I doubt the book contained each word of a filesystem path in a separate line ending with a backslash.

Nishant
11th June 2010, 14:46
Hey,the program still doesnt work efficiently.Am i using textChanged() as the right signal?
Thanks