PDA

View Full Version : Use QThread with Qbytearray parameter and return...+ QTCPSocket

ruben.rodrigues
23rd June 2010, 08:39
Hi all!

I am kind of new with qt and I am doing a more or less complex program (at least for me).

I have a client server application that send and receives QByteArray packages and it works but it is not optimize. My boss told me that it should use the tcp members in a separated QThread because if the query takes too long the Gui part of the client kind of block until the QTcpSocket.waitforreadyread() is finished.

I saw all the basic examples but I haven't seen any example with a QByteArray as parameter and that returns a QByteArray. I need to:

QByteArray qba; //this qbytearray is compose with stuff like username,password from the GUI

qba = MyThread(qba).start();

I know that the syntax is totally wrong and this doesn't work but how can I send and get a qba that is processed in a QThread...and is this the best solution?

Thank you all!

tbscope
23rd June 2010, 08:52
Please don't use threads for this. It will make your coding more difficult (as you already see).

Do use the readyRead() signal.

Example:
http://www.qtcentre.org/wiki/index.php?title=Server_with_multiple_clients_witho ut_threads

ruben.rodrigues
23rd June 2010, 10:01
Please don't use threads for this. It will make your coding more difficult (as you already see).

Do use the readyRead() signal.

Example:
http://www.qtcentre.org/wiki/index.php?title=Server_with_multiple_clients_witho ut_threads

Thanks for your reply!

I saw, built and tested the example but it doesn't help me very much. Using the readyRead Signal was my first option but I need something that allows me to use the tcpsocket->write(qbytearray) and receive the processed QBA right after. We will have more then 100 functions and they all must use the same TCPclass.

I will keep looking but just for the record, is it possible to call a QThread with parameters and expect to return a qbytearray?