PDA

View Full Version : Impression from a newbie

Rik
4th July 2010, 12:25
Hi all!

I'm new to Qt, Qt-Creator, and forum.
Comparing IDEs like Lazarus, Netbeans, Jabaco, Mono, vs Qt-Creator, I discover that the last one is quite intuitive in difficult things and the less intuitive in things that should be very simple.

I base this statement on a first impression trying to do a hello-world like gui application at a first glance and deploy to another machine.

I install Qt creator.
I develop the mini-application.
Test. Ok working.
Build a release for Win32.
Click on exe and even on the developmente environment don't work for lack of dependency.
OK, I don't even try to find dependencies and look forward on how to make a single exe with static lib.
Look around in every menu, but not any option.
Search on internet but everything brings to command line.

Look on help and found a page in the help. Good!
Let's see what it says: configure -static <options>
Nothing.
I add configure -static -release
Nothing
I note the error talking about platform not known
OK. What's the constant for win32?:confused:
So look forward to find this constant and found on internet could be win32-icc
Right it is.
The compilation end with a not too much encouraging info about the lacking of nmake... nmake that on the guide i should run after this step (the help say to type sub-src).
Looking on the entire tree: there is no nmake... because is a M$ tools.
So, don't having visual studio, search for that single file and download via web.
Now it works.
Now I have to continue the help guide to link the application to the static version of Qt, but I stop here.

This is a process that should be simplified or better explained.