PDA

View Full Version : Signal and Slot -changing value of double or integer

samee999
20th August 2010, 18:06
Hello,

I am new to QT and I just wanted to ask if there is some way of changing the value of an integer as a slot when your signal is a QSpinBox

Basically I am trying to do something like this:

int rollangle ;
QSpinBox *spinrotate = new QSpinBox;
spinrotate->setRange(0,180);
QObject::connect(spinrotate,SIGNAL(valueChanged(in t)),rollangle,SLOT(setValue(int)));

Off course I realize this is not how its supposed to be done since, as far as I know, both signal and slot should be of the same type.

But I need the integer rollangle to change with spinrotate value.
Because I am implementing a Qtransform::rotate function after this and i want the rotation to change every time spinrotate is changed

I would be really grateful if someone can help me with this! :)

Urthas
20th August 2010, 18:11
Primitives like int do not have slots. All you need to do is connect the spinbox signal to a function that updates the value of rollangle:

connect(spinrotate, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int), this, SLOT(updateRollAngle(int));
void YourClass::updaterollAngle(int i)
{
rollangle = i;
}

By the way, you are sort of correct with regards to
both signal and slot should be of the same type

They have to have the same parameters, or, failing that, the signal may have more parameters in which case the extra ones are ignored by the slot. However, even in that case the parameters that are not ignored by the slot must be the same as those in the slot.

samee999
20th August 2010, 22:18
thanx a lot for ur post,

I am trying to do as u pointed out. so this is my code:
class faith1
{
public:
void updaterollAngle(int);
private:

};
void faith1::updaterollAngle(int i)
{
int rollangle;
rollangle = i;

}

in the int main function i do this :

faith1 andy;
QSpinBox *spinrotate = new QSpinBox;
spinrotate->setRange(0,180);