PDA

View Full Version : QMainWindow inside another widget

DanFessler
23rd August 2010, 00:13
Hello, I'm very new to Qt. I'm trying to replicate the functionality of a mockup of mine for a tool i'm developing. This would call for dockwidgets and toolbars to be inside a tabwidget. From what i've read, the only widget that can hold dockables and toolbars is the main-window and some have suggested to somehow make the mainwindow a child of another widget (in my case, a tabwidget). But the answers were never well defined for someone new to qt. Could someone please give a detailed solution to this?

I currently have a .UI form designed with a tabwidget. Would it be possible to design another .UI document that contained another mainwindow to be inserted into these tabs from my first .ui file?

here is my mockup for reference:
http://danfessler.com/dump/mock_modanim.png

ChrisW67
23rd August 2010, 01:52
You can certainly place a QMainWindow inside another widget; I use them inside MDI child windows for example.

You can design the main window separately and install it as a child of another widget in code. I expect you could also embed it in its parent by placing a QWidget in the parent and using the Promote feature to change its class.

DanFessler
23rd August 2010, 05:54
and install it as a child of another widget in code

thanks for the reply. I would greatly appreciate someone walking me through this part. Assume you have just created a new Qt GUI project within qt creator and added a tabwidget to the existing mainwindow.ui

-Dan

ChrisW67
23rd August 2010, 08:14
Exactly how you do the plumbing depends on exactly how you want things arranged. However, it's something along these lines:

Open your project in Qt Creator
"Add New...", "Designer Form Class", type is "Main Window", and provide some names to add another QMainWindow derivative to your project. I'll use a class called ThingyTabInnerWindow as an example.
Design the new inner form.