PDA

View Full Version : Howto handle QLineEdit::focusInEvent() from container?

scarleton
25th August 2010, 00:43
I want to do something to an QLineEdit when the user clicks on it. It looks like I need to capture the QLineEdit::focusInEvent(). I do NOT want to have to spin my own, is there some way to capture the event in the container dialog?

Lykurg
25th August 2010, 07:07
Install an event filter on your dialog: QObject::installEventFilter(). There you can catch the focus event of your line edit.

priyasuri
9th December 2010, 19:32
Hi,
I am a newbie to Qt programming. I was able to successfully install event filters on my objects when I coded the ui myself. I then decided to use Qt Designer to construct my UI but I am unable to figure out how event filters get installed on ui objects constructed using the designer. How do I installEventFilter using QtDesigner?

Thanks,
Priya

Lykurg
9th December 2010, 21:03
e.g.:
ui->NameOfYourWidget->installEventFilter(this);right in the constructor.

priyasuri
10th December 2010, 19:14
Hi Lykurg,
Thank you for the quick response. I did try installing the event filter using the method you suggested
ui->NameOfYourWidget->installEventFilter(this); but when I run the application, the two QLineEdit boxes to which I have installed the event filter show up blank. Is there a way to debug this ?

Thanks again for you time,
Priya

Hi Lykurg,
I managed to debug it myself. For some reason when I set the return value to false in the eventFilter function, the objects show up. Wonder if I am missing something..
Here is my eventFilter function...

bool QGridEventHandler::eventFilter(QObject *obj, QEvent *event)
{
bool bRetVal = false;
if (event->type() == QEvent::FocusIn) {
QLineEdit *grid = static_cast<QLineEdit *> (obj);
if (grid->text().isEmpty()){
if (bTurnChk) {
grid->setText("X");
bTurnChk = false;
}
else {
grid->setText("O");
bTurnChk = true;
}
}
}
return bRetVal;
}

Thanks,
Priya