PDA

View Full Version : Some questions about Qt and App creation...

V I R U S
1st September 2010, 10:27
Hello everyone!

I'm starting with Qt, so I'm pretty new in it. Mainly I'm PHP/C#/VB.NET developer and there are some differences.

There are some things i can't understand. I've used search, readed a lot of threads here, but anyway, i don't get it.

1. We trying to create some app, it should have it's own updater function. As you start the main app, it will connect to server and check if there are some updates. MainWindow is hidden on start.
a. if there is no update, the MainWindow will appear.
b. if new update was found, MainWindow will stay hidden, but there should appear new window with progress bar which will show progress status.
Question: As what should i define this new Window in part B? As new QWidget and create Progress Bar in it or there is another way?

2. I have read a lot of threads here, found a classes to customize the skin of own application. This thread is from year 2007, and somehow a little bit old. We want to customize our app as far as possible, like own frame skin for MainWindow, all sub-windows, controls and other. Is there some good Topics or Manuals describing how to do that?

Sorry if i missed somewhat and it was already discussed here.
Thanks!

marcvanriet
1st September 2010, 12:52
Hello V i r u s (bad name by the way),

For an app to update itself is always tricky. When an .exe is running, it can't just be replaced.

I would suggest first starting an 'updater' executable instead of the real application. This would be a QDialog based application (not using a QMainWindow). In the main() of this application, you could check if an update is required, and if not, just don't show the dialog. At the end of this updater, you can execute your real application sing QProcess::execute() or so.

For the skins, I have no experience with that.