PDA

View Full Version : Server with multiple clients without threads

kernel.roy
8th September 2010, 15:16
Hi all,

I am very new in Qt. i am trying to implement the following link:
http://www.qtcentre.org/wiki/index.php?title=Server_with_multiple_clients_witho ut_threads

But their is no code ....
Can anyone help me for the example....

daemonna
8th September 2010, 15:45
why not use threading? every modern computer support threading and got more than one CPU core.... and PC's of tommorrow gonna have even more cores..

tbscope
8th September 2010, 17:19
Using threads when no threads are needed is a sign of very poor design.

The basic idea is this:
In your server implementation:
* Create a list that keeps track of client sockets
* For each new connection, add the socket to the list
* Connect the useful signals of the socket to a slot in your server implementation
* Signals like readyRead() and disconnected()
* Do not use the waitFor... functions

daemonna
9th September 2010, 13:07
what is poor about using multithreading on multi-core processors??? i guess it's more fear of threading...

Using threads when no threads are needed

if you program real server app, which will run on 8-24 thread CPU (i7, new AMD), NOT using threading is poor decision... simply coz you dont take advantage of HW.

wysota
9th September 2010, 13:20
what is poor about using multithreading on multi-core processors???
Nothing if you have more cores in your machine than processes in your systems + maximum number of clients you handle concurrently. And if you really like synchronizing threads :) But in a general case there is no point in using threading simply because you can.

if you program real server app, which will run on 8-24 thread CPU (i7, new AMD), NOT using threading is poor decision... simply coz you dont take advantage of HW.