PDA

View Full Version : Mercator for google static maps

daarsh
29th September 2010, 06:59
Hi,
I am new to QT and m developint an application for mobile.
I want to display google map and also put some buttons at specific places on the map.
Earlier I thought of using QWebview and google maps javascript API.
But then in that case I was not able to get the current location being displayed on map.
So I am trying to use static map api.
I am displaying the map image in a graphics scene so that I am able to drag the image.
Now I want to place some buttons @specific position on the map.For that i need to convert the lat lon in the map image to pixels.I have heard about mercator algo for that,but i didnt fing any cpp implementation for it :(
I am not sure how to do this.
Also How can i plave a button over the graphicsview wigdet,coz i am using layouts.
any help will be appriciated.
Thanx in advance

SixDegrees
29th September 2010, 07:33
First, you need to know what projection the map is displayed in; you can't just blindly reach for the Mercator projection, because it is only one of literally hundreds of map projections available. For relatively close-up views, orthographic projections are often used, or just a simple Platte-Carre projection which uses a direct mapping between screen coordinates and latitude/longitude. But you have to determine which is being used; whatever the source of your map image is should provide this information.

Once you know that, there are many sources for converting between various projection frames. Flattening the Earth: 2000 Years of Map Projections (http://www.amazon.com/Flattening-Earth-Thousand-Years-Projections/dp/0226767477/ref=sr_1_1?s=gateway&ie=UTF8&qid=1285741925&sr=8-1) is probably the best reference on the topic that's readily available.

Urthas
29th September 2010, 07:36