PDA

View Full Version : Help drawing a gui



franco.amato
5th October 2010, 22:31
Good morning,
some time ago I started the developing of a simple audio editor that can edit 2 songs at the same time ( 2 wavewidgets ). So I started designing the gui but then the customer didn't like it.
Giving a look at this image 5273 you can see that there is a little info panes on the left of every wavewidget ( with some simple control as sliders and labels ). I would move this panel under the wave display ( where there are the others buttons ).
How can I do it?
Regards,
Franco

Lykurg
5th October 2010, 22:36
I would move this panel under the wave display ( where there are the others buttons ).
How can I do it?By rearange the elements using different kinds of layouts? If you were able to arrange the buttons under the waves then you should also be able to arrange the other elements there. Or did I miss an obvious point?

ChrisW67
5th October 2010, 22:40
Assumption: The four widgets (control panel x 2 and wave widget x 2) and the two sets of controls are are in a grid layout currently.

Solution: Switch to a vertical layout.

I also assume there's more to your question than this.

franco.amato
5th October 2010, 22:46
Assumption: The four widgets (control panel x 2 and wave widget x 2) and the two sets of controls are are in a grid layout currently.

Solution: Switch to a vertical layout.

I also assume there's more to your question than this.

Thank you. I would do this because the possible customer would have the wave display ( the part of the widget where the audio wave will be displayed ) as large as possible so I need to remove such little panel, so I don't know where to put it.
I thought to put it under the wave display. Could I use a tab widget with 2 tab? 1 for the buttons and one for the sliders?
Chris, no is not a grid layout, it's a vertical layout containing 2 H layouts

franco.amato
5th October 2010, 22:48
Sorry in advance, I know this is not really a Qt post, but my experience in gui design is very little and this project ( ecp_studio ) is my first significant qt project.

Lykurg
5th October 2010, 22:53
If your customers what it that way (which in my opinion is not the best choice) then just add a second row and put all element there. From left to right.

One other option your be to draw your left panel transparent over the wave form and alter the opacity when the mouse is over. Or give a small "show panel"-button, so the user can decide if it should be shown.

franco.amato
5th October 2010, 22:57
If your customers what it that way (which in my opinion is not the best choice) then just add a second row and put all element there. From left to right.

One other option your be to draw your left panel transparent over the wave form and alter the opacity when the mouse is over. Or give a small "show panel"-button, so the user can decide if it should be shown.

Thank you Lykurg,
your idea of transparent panel seems very great. Is there any example I can see?

ChrisW67
5th October 2010, 23:05
Or perhaps make each panel a horizontal set of widgets beneath the existing controls


Edit: I should learn to read, Lykurg already said that

franco.amato
5th October 2010, 23:19
Or perhaps make each panel a horizontal set of widgets beneath the existing controls


Edit: I should learn to read, Lykurg already said that

Chris could I use a grid layout to layout buttons and 'panel controls' under the wave display?

ChrisW67
6th October 2010, 00:13
You could but another nested horizontal layout would also do the trick. If you want the rearranged panel widgets to line up with the ones above then use a grid layout either for the entire layout or just around the play/stop controls and the panel widgets. If you want the panel widgets to be independent of the play/stop controls in horizontal spacing then go with a horizontal layout.

franco.amato
6th October 2010, 00:40
You could but another nested horizontal layout would also do the trick. If you want the rearranged panel widgets to line up with the ones above then use a grid layout either for the entire layout or just around the play/stop controls and the panel widgets. If you want the panel widgets to be independent of the play/stop controls in horizontal spacing then go with a horizontal layout.

Or maybe I can move all the buttons into the little panel and move the panel ( containing ALL controls ) under the wave display.
I can share the code

franco.amato
6th October 2010, 23:31
You could but another nested horizontal layout would also do the trick. If you want the rearranged panel widgets to line up with the ones above then use a grid layout either for the entire layout or just around the play/stop controls and the panel widgets. If you want the panel widgets to be independent of the play/stop controls in horizontal spacing then go with a horizontal layout.

Chris,
I thought to put ALL controls ( buttons under wavedisplay + widget in the little panel ) into a separate dialog that user can show when needed.
Can you suggest an elegant way to do it? Gui design isn't definitively my best quality.

Regards,
Franco

wysota
6th October 2010, 23:44
I would probably use a splitter or a button to pop-up the controls (just like QComboBox pops up the list). With proper settings (Qt::Popup) the controls widget would hide itself automatically if you clicked outside it.

franco.amato
7th October 2010, 00:06
I would probably use a splitter or a button to pop-up the controls (just like QComboBox pops up the list). With proper settings (Qt::Popup) the controls widget would hide itself automatically if you clicked outside it.

Hi Wysota,
sorry I didn't exactly undertsand your idea. Splitter is not used to divide a widget into many parts?

Regards

nish
7th October 2010, 07:27
what about dock widgets or a simple floating toolbar?

franco.amato
7th October 2010, 08:24
what about dock widgets or a simple floating toolbar?

Hi but the floating toolbar shoudn't stay at the top of the mainwindow? Should I need 2 toolbar ( one per wave widget ).
And the dock widget I'm not sure if it's a good idea as I need the wave display to be as large as possible,

Regards

wysota
7th October 2010, 11:26
sorry I didn't exactly undertsand your idea.
I don't know how much simpler I can describe it. I think it's pretty clear right now. See how QComboBox works and make something similar.


Splitter is not used to divide a widget into many parts?
RTFM