PDA

View Full Version : DLL Injection with slots... ?!?!?

gilamran
16th October 2010, 22:25
Hi,
I'm quite new to QT so be nice ;-)
I have a DLL that I inject into a QT application (I don't have the source)
I want this DLL to get some signals from the application that it's injected into.

the injection is working very well, and I have access to all the UI, I can even change values of text fields etc.

BUT, I can't connect the DLL slots to the UI's signals.
I've been reading about it a bit, but no one could give a good answer on how to do it.

please please, help!

Thanks
Gil.

squidge
16th October 2010, 22:57
By "can't" what do you mean? Do you get an error message?

gilamran
16th October 2010, 23:00
I did an internal connection (With two text fields in the main APP) and it worked.
Like this:

connect(lineEdit, SIGNAL(textChanged(QString)), lineEdit2, SLOT(setText(QString)));

But when I connect to my own DLL slot function, it didn't work (It didn't get to the slot function)
like this:

connect(lineEdit, SIGNAL(textChanged(QString)), this, SLOT(mySlot()));

As I'm guessing, I can't connect to slots that didn't compile with the main app.... My DLL's slot is not known to the main app...
am I write? what's the work around?

squidge
16th October 2010, 23:27
Are you sure you are using the exact same DLLs and library instance for Qt as the main application?

I don't think the main app needs to know about your slots, as they defined by MOC, and as long as you are using the same version of MOC (and Qt) as the main app, it should find your slot at run time.

If the app you are hooking into using a statically linked version of Qt, then it's a lot more difficult.

tbscope
17th October 2010, 05:19
As squidge already said, signals and slots are handled by MOC.
Thus, make sure that your injected DLL is processed by MOC before linking it (here I mean the actual linking of the DLL, not injecting it).

Lykurg
17th October 2010, 08:27