PDA

View Full Version : Reuse QT code in QTEmbedded



the_bis
8th September 2006, 14:59
Hi,
I'm writing code in QT under Linux. Because I will work on Linux embedded system my question is: can I reuse the code written in QT in the new QTEmbedded project?
What are the differences?

Thanks,
the_bis

wysota
8th September 2006, 15:29
Qt/Embedded is based on Qt2.3 (I think), so you won't be able to use that part of code which uses API which was introduced in Qt3.0. You might want to use Qt4 and Qtopia Core instead -- it is based on Qt4.

the_bis
8th September 2006, 17:52
Qt/Embedded is based on Qt2.3 (I think), so you won't be able to use that part of code which uses API which was introduced in Qt3.0.

Ok, I'm using QT 3.3.6 :(


You might want to use Qt4 and Qtopia Core instead -- it is based on Qt4.

How different is QT4 from Qtopia? I mean: if I rewrite my code in QT4, how difficult is to re-compile this code (I hope unchanged...) in Qtopia?

Thanks,
the_bis

jpn
8th September 2006, 18:03
How different is QT4 from Qtopia? I mean: if I rewrite my code in QT4, how difficult is to re-compile this code (I hope unchanged...) in Qtopia?
Qtopia Core (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.1/qtopiacore.html):

Qtopia Core provides the standard Qt API for embedded devices with a lightweight windowing system.
Yes, you can compile Qt4 programs with Qtopia Core.