PDA

View Full Version : QStackedWidget pass data between stacks and switch by pushbutton from the staks

georgeky
14th November 2010, 13:25
Hello all,

I am very New to QT and C++. I usually do work in PHP and Perl.

I am trying to make a multi form app that will pass data between the forms.

Example:
FormStack: Has the QStackedWIdget
Form1: has a 2 buttons and textbox when either button is clicked the Next stack should show and have the button that was clicked and text from the 1`st forms textbox
Form2 has 2 buttons back and close and lable

The best solution i found for QT was to use QStackedWidget but i cant seem to find a way to make the staks communicate and pass the data between each other except with a button that is on the formstack(the form that holds the QstackedWidget

And for the life of me i cannot make the slots and signals work between forms or 2 windows. they seem to only work within the same form.

Please help me i spent 2 days trying to find a solution on the forms or in teh qt samples but no luck so far.

I have attached the sample code (a modified multiform i found on this form that is the base of my app)5456

Thank you very much for the help.

franz
14th November 2010, 15:44
Looks like you got some coding to do. The signal/slot editor in the designer isn't as powerful as just coding C++, but it can help to get you started. However, what you seem to want is some wizard-type behavior. Doesn't QWizard match your requirements? It already has a lot of the functionality you need.

georgeky
14th November 2010, 16:01
Franz, Thank you for your answer as i mentioned i have never programmed in C or QT i am learning this as i go, but most of what i found were info using the QSTackedwidget. I will give the Wizard a shot and see how things go. and i thank you for the help offer i appropriate it alot :-) Do you use skype or icq? maybe we can chat sometimes.

georgeky
15th November 2010, 02:36