PDA

View Full Version : Problems reading binary data from file using QDataStream

gowen
22nd November 2010, 22:16
Hi All,

I am very new to Qt and C++ programming in general and have got into some difficulty.

I am trying to read data from a very large binary file (upto 1GB in size) but I keep having problems.

I would like to read a certain number of bytes into a struct using QDataStream. I can compile and run the code with no errors, but it is not reading in the data that I expect.

Here is a simplified version of the code:

SomeStructure *someStruct;

QFile file("somedata.raw");
file.open(QIODevice::ReadOnly);
QDataStream fileStream(&file);

fileStream.readRawData(reinterpret_cast<char*>&someStruct, someByteSize);

I cannot read all the data in at once due to the size of file and would like the ability to move through the data that QDataStream gives.

I can get this to work using the ifstream, however this appears to be causing a memory issue a few lines later that I cannot correct. Therefore I thought it better to try the Qt functions for file reading.

If anyone can help then I would be so grateful! as this issue has been driving me mad!

Many Thanks

Zlatomir
22nd November 2010, 22:44
The problem is this line SomeStructure *someStruct;, here you only declare a pointer which points to nowhere in the memory, since it's not initialized. (create an object, or use new with the pointer, and if you use new, don't forget to delete if it is not part of a parent-child relationship)

ChrisW67
22nd November 2010, 23:05
Unless the creator of your struct is a Qt application then you probably want the QIODevice read methods rather than QDataStream. QDataStream is designed for platform agnostic serialisation and recovery of intrinsic and Qt data types. It stores extra information and potentially different byte-orders to an 'equivalent' plain-old-data structure.

gowen
22nd November 2010, 23:58
Thank you for the quick replies!

I have initialised the pointers using: