PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help with closing SQL QTableView

duave
30th November 2010, 06:46
Hey guys,

I've been programming in QT for a few months here and there, but I seem to have run in to an issue.

I'm writing a program that reads from an SQL database (and displays the data in a QTableView when the user clicks on a button). The only thing I need help with is that the windows don't close automatically when I close the main program.

I'm using this function template to display my windows:

void server :: showCandidates()
{
QSqlQueryModel *testQuery = new QSqlQueryModel;
testQuery->setQuery("SELECT * from candidates");
QTableView *test = new QTableView;
test->setModel(testQuery);
test->setWindowTitle("Candidates");
test->show();
}and I just trigger that with a signal, like

connect(ui->candidatesButton, SIGNAL(clicked()), this, SLOT(showCandidates()));
I tried to tie the QTableView to the main window (as the parent) but that was giving me trouble (it wouldn't create a new window, it would just pop the table view in the main window and overlap with the GUI).

Any help would be much appreciated, I'm not the smartest with programming so please don't make answers too complicated.

Thanks in advance!

tbscope
30th November 2010, 06:57
Closing a widget doesn't quit the application if more widgets are still there.
If you want that, you should implement the main window close event and handle the closing of all open windows, saving settings and quiting the app.

BalaQT
30th November 2010, 07:36
hi ,
i think the best way would be using mdisubwindow.
add a mdisubwindow.

QMdiSubWindow *s=new QMdiSubWindow;
QTableView *test = new QTableView(s);
s->show();

hope it helps
Bala

marcvanriet
30th November 2010, 11:50
Hi,

@BalaQT : won't de QMdiSubWindow still stay alive when the main window is closed ? I'm not sure.