PDA

View Full Version : Drag and Dropping items in QTreeView

jshafferman
1st December 2010, 21:56
Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to Qt programming however I am pretty skilled in C++ programming and so I was hired on as a C++ GUI Programmer for a company. I have ran into a little bit of an issue that I can't seem to figure out. I have a built a QTreeView view that just shows the data in a selected hierarchical fashion. I am trying to enable the user to be able to drag and drop items from one place to another. I have a MainWindow class that inherits from QMainWindow and I am trying to get the MainWindow to catch the dropAction when moving items from one to place to another on the QTreeView (I will call view from now on). In doing so I have set the MainWindow in the constructor to accept drops and then disabled the view from excepting drops. As far as this is concerned it appears to be doing what I want. I then reimplemented the dragEnterEvent so that the MainWindow will know when something is being dragged and again that works as I would expect. Finally, I reimplemented the dropEvent and I am trying to get the correct index of the item that the drop event is trying to drop to so that I can call a function that I have already made that will correctly place the item where it needs to go. I am unable to get the correct index from the QTreeView and I am not sure how to proceed.

Visual example of what I am trying to do:

Before Move: After Move G to Directly underneath A:
- A - A
- B - G
- C - B
- D - C
- E - D
- F - E
- G - F
- H - H

If this isn't formatting the way I would like Ill explain the above: