PDA

View Full Version : Why don't I have any code related to .ui in .cpp file?

ada
4th December 2010, 14:50
Hi, I am really new in Qt. I created a GUI application project and I am trying to edit the buttons I created in the Designer but where are they created in the code? I can't see anything related to it in .cpp files. I assumed that it would be like Visual Studio you know when I double click on sth I can write the events of it etc. In my mainwindow.cpp there is only

#include "mainwindow.h"
#include "ui_mainwindow.h"

MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent) :
QMainWindow(parent),
ui(new Ui::MainWindow)
{
ui->setupUi(this);
}

MainWindow::~MainWindow()
{
delete ui;
}

How do I change the buttons or anything I created with this? I have a main.cpp other than this.

ireas
4th December 2010, 15:34
The UI part is stored in the .ui xml file, e. g. mainwindow.ui (see Qt documentation). It is loaded by the ui object with the line:

ui->setupUi(this);

You are able to edit this .ui file by hand, but espacially for someone new to Qt, it is better to edit it with Qt Creator (the Qt IDE) or Qt Designer.

ada
4th December 2010, 16:12
The UI part is stored in the .ui xml file, e. g. mainwindow.ui (see Qt documentation). It is loaded by the ui object with the line:

ui->setupUi(this);

You are able to edit this .ui file by hand, but espacially for someone new to Qt, it is better to edit it with Qt Creator (the Qt IDE) or Qt Designer.

How do I handle the events by hand like Visual Studio with C#? I want to be able to change one panel with button clicks, how can I handle it? The other parts of the page should remain the same like Facebook (only the middle area changes by clicking buttons etc.)

Zlatomir
4th December 2010, 16:50
Read about signals and slots, documentation here (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.7/signalsandslots.html).

ireas
4th December 2010, 20:21