PDA

View Full Version : Using gui objectNames when coding

The physicist
11th December 2010, 13:50
Hey all,

Complete noob to QT here. I am trying to write a gui for a program that I wrote in traditional c++ (command line application) - I want to populate a label widget with a value when I push a button on the GUI. The label's objectName is "label" - and my code looks something like this:

#include "brachygui.h"
#include "ui_brachygui.h"
#include <QLabel>

BrachyGUI::BrachyGUI(QWidget *parent) :
QMainWindow(parent),
ui(new Ui::BrachyGUI)
{
ui->setupUi(this);
}

BrachyGUI::~BrachyGUI()
{
delete ui;
}

void BrachyGUI::on_pushButton_clicked()
{
label->setText("Monday");
}

When I build, I get the error "error: 'label' was not declared in this scope". Where do I define the label, or is it already defined somewhere, and I need to access it differently? I've searched the forums and google, but haven't been able to work it out :(

Thanks in advance.

tbscope
11th December 2010, 15:24
If you use designer, then the objects you've added via designer are available via the "ui" object. Example:

ui->label->setText("Monday");

The physicist
11th December 2010, 17:11
Tbscope, thanks, that's perfect!

I'm really looking forward to getting to grips with QT, it looks much better than MS Visual Studio (with the added bonus of being x-platform).

The physicist
12th December 2010, 15:38
Can anyone help me with a similar thing following on from this? How do I set the value of a label to a variable from elsewhere in the program? I just tried this

void gui_brachy::on_pushButton_clicked()
{
function();

ui->label->setText(variable);
}

where variable is in the function. I just tried it but I got an error saying that the variable had not been defined in this scope?

squidge
12th December 2010, 15:47
You'd write it in the same way as typical C++, pass the variable as a parameter, or use a class member variable.