PDA

View Full Version : Need help writing my first Qt app

netnut
16th December 2010, 08:43
Hello people!

First (of many) post on these forums... and I need a little bit of help. I have written a program in native c++ that works fine and now want to build a GUI application that does the same thing - that is given an input sequence of amino acids find the molecular weight and formula of the protein the sequence represents. Before I go any further I must tell you that I have no prior experience in GUI programming although I'm pretty well versed with C++.

I have built the 'main screen' (widget?) for my app with the necessary lineEdits and labels and buttons using Qt Creator but I can't figure out where to put in my code that does the actual processing.

Could you please point me in the right direction? Thanks!

tbscope
16th December 2010, 08:50
native c++
There is no such thing as "native" C++. You want to say C++ making use of only the standard libraries?

I have built the 'main screen' (widget?) for my app with the necessary lineEdits and labels and buttons using Qt Creator but I can't figure out where to put in my code that does the actual processing.

Could you please point me in the right direction? Thanks!

When you create a new widget, create one with classes (it's an option when adding a new widget). This will not only create a .ui file, but also a .h and a .cpp file that you can use in your application. You can use these files to extend the functionality.

netnut
16th December 2010, 11:35
Yes, by native C++ I meant the one with the standard libraries (that runs in the command line).

When you create a new widget, create one with classes (it's an option when adding a new widget). This will not only create a .ui file, but also a .h and a .cpp file that you can use in your application. You can use these files to extend the functionality.