PDA

View Full Version : Conventional UNIX Socket based server receiving data from QTcpSocket... Possible?

Gavin Harper
16th December 2010, 19:40
I am working on a pair of applications that serve different system needs. The client application I have written in Qt since QWT is key though for the server, I wish to write it in standard C++ (There are circumstances that make this is preferable).

My question is simply, how best to send data from the Qt client using QTcpSocket in such a way that it is directly readable by a non Qt socket?

Thank you, I appreciate any time spent in providing insight.

hexa
16th December 2010, 20:06
I might be wrong, since I'm new to Qt and never used one of it's QSockets, but I imagine that data is data.

What I mean is, if you make a tcp connection with QTcpSocket and send 8 bytes of data, the other side will recieve 8 bytes of data, untouched.

I think you do not need to worry, it's a convenience class around sockets.

regards,
hexa

tbscope
16th December 2010, 20:11
but I imagine that data is data.

Oops :-)
Data can take a billion and one forms.
If your unix socket uses UDP and you send data via TCP, I think you might have a problem.

So, this only works if both sockets speak the same "language".

wysota
16th December 2010, 21:01
If your unix socket uses UDP and you send data via TCP, I think you might have a problem.
There will be no problem. There will simply be no communication as UDP and TCP have their own set of ports so UDP port X has nothing to do with TCP port X. There can be different services running on both of them.

ChrisW67
16th December 2010, 22:49
My question is simply, how best to send data from the Qt client using QTcpSocket in such a way that it is directly readable by a non Qt socket?