PDA

View Full Version : "Unable to read symbols" Problem



weaver4
20th December 2010, 17:11
I am using QT4.7.0 (with QtCreator) on OSX 10.6.5.

I am getting the following errors when I debug:

Unable to read symbols for QtSql.framework/Versions/4/QtSql (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtSql" (not yet mapped into memory).
Unable to read symbols for QtGui.framework/Versions/4/QtGui (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtGui" (not yet mapped into memory).
Unable to read symbols for QtNetwork.framework/Versions/4/QtNetwork (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtNetwork" (not yet mapped into memory).
Unable to read symbols for QtCore.framework/Versions/4/QtCore (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtCore" (not yet mapped into memory).

I have checked and these files are found in the /Library/Frameworks directory. I edited the /etc/paths directory and now my path looks like this:


echo $PATH
/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/Users/trey/Bin:/Library/Frameworks:/usr/X11/bin

So the PATH looks like it is pointing to the directory; what am I missing here? Is there another variable I need to modify?

This is a raw install of QtCreator right from their site, add a single button to a form and then compile and debug. Is there a document that shows any extra steps for the mac?

The directory looks like this:

============================
$ ll /Library/Frameworks
total 0
drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:03 NyxAudioAnalysis.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 Qt3Support.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtCore.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtDBus.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtDeclarative.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtDesigner.framework
drwxrwxr-x 9 root admin 306 Dec 18 13:13 QtDesignerComponents.framework
drwxrwxr-x 12 root admin 408 Dec 20 11:32 QtGui.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtHelp.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtMultimedia.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtNetwork.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtOpenGL.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtScript.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtScriptTools.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtSql.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtSvg.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtTest.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtWebKit.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtXml.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtXmlPatterns.framework
drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:03 iLifeFaceRecognition.framework
drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:01 iLifeKit.framework
drwxrwxr-x 8 root admin 272 Oct 12 02:01 iLifePageLayout.framework
drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:01 iLifeSQLAccess.framework
drwxrwxr-x 7 root admin 238 Dec 17 21:26 iLifeSlideshow.framework
drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 phonon.framework

weaver4
22nd December 2010, 19:56
Bounce?

This happens when I run the file that was compiled under 'Debug' someone has to know what is going on.

ChrisW67
24th December 2010, 01:42
Not being a Mac OS X user I cannot offer a concrete answer.

If the problem only appears when you compile your application in debug mode then I would hazard a guess and say that the debug libraries are not installed or not being found. The SDK on Windows installs a set of release mode Qt libraries to operate Qt Creator and a completely separate set of release and debug Qt libraries that are used to develop against. Does this happen on OS X? If so, which set is in /Library/Frameworks and where might the other ones be?

weaver4
26th December 2010, 01:03
One of the things that I don't understand is that the error is "Unable to read symbols for QtSql.framework/Versions/4/QtSql (file not found)." The file is found here "/Library/Frameworks/QtSql.framework/Versions/4/QtSql". So how does Qt Know to use the "/Library/Frameworks" directory as a prefix? I tried setting up the path, but that did not fix it. I also tried to add this line to the .pro file, but that did not fix it either. "LIBS += /Library/Frameworks".

If I do a listing of that directory I get the following:

ll /Library/Frameworks/QtSql.framework/Versions/4
total 3216
drwxrwxr-x 61 root admin 2074 Dec 20 15:07 Headers
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 591088 Sep 10 12:19 QtSql
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 1049632 Sep 10 11:54 QtSql_debug

So you can see the file is there and a debug file is also found.

thomab
31st January 2011, 17:30
Did you ever solve this? I'm having the exact same problem

zorlette
19th December 2012, 21:52
Was this ever solved? I have similar issue: When I run through debugger I get:
Debugging starts
Unable to read symbols for QtWebKit.framework/Versions/4/QtWebKit (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtWebKit" (not yet mapped into memory).
Unable to read symbols for QtGui.framework/Versions/4/QtGui (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtGui" (not yet mapped into memory).
Unable to read symbols for QtCore.framework/Versions/4/QtCore (file not found).
Unable to read symbols from "QtCore" (not yet mapped into memory).

QT Creator 2.6.0
Based on Qt 4.8.3 (64 bit)
OS X 10.8.2
i7

Thanks!

ChrisW67
19th December 2012, 21:58
The debugger cannot read debugging symbols from the libraries because they are not built with debugging symbols; probably because they are release libraries.

zorlette
20th December 2012, 16:05
Thanks Guru for your reply. I am new to QT and Mac. The libraries are at /Library/Frameworks ... The project was actually built in Windows and I am testing if it works on Mac. Do you have any solution/fix for this?

amleto
20th December 2012, 17:16
rebuild the libs with debug symbols included.

zorlette
20th December 2012, 17:27
Thanks Amleto!

As I mentioned before, I'm a newbie ... How can I "rebuild the libs with debug symbols included"? I've already completely rebuilt the project ...

amleto
20th December 2012, 22:36
rebuild Qt libs, not your project. The missing symbols are in qt binaries, not your application. There are tutorials online.