PDA

View Full Version : How to initiate a form based on QUiLoader

peterjb31
21st December 2010, 16:00
Hi all

I'm relatively new to both C++ and QT and I am trying to create an application which dynamically loads a form based on what is returned from a query to a database. Below is the code I am using to try and 'run' the form:

ItemAdd item;
item.show();

This however doesn't seem to do anything. The contents of ItemAdd.cpp are as follows:

#include "itemadd.h"

ItemAdd::ItemAdd(QWidget *parent) :
QWidget(parent)
{
QUiLoader builder;
QFile file("form.ui");
file.open(QFile::ReadOnly);
QWidget *myWidget = builder.load(&file, this);
file.close();

QPushButton *tmpButton = new QPushButton;
tmpButton = qFindChild<QPushButton*>(this,"addNewItemButton");
QVBoxLayout *layout = new QVBoxLayout;
layout->addWidget(myWidget);
setLayout(layout);
// connect(tmpButton,SIGNAL(clicked()),this,SLOT(slot AddItem()));
}
void ItemAdd::slotAddItem() {
// Code to be added later;
}

ItemAdd::~ItemAdd() {

}

I have based both my header and cpp file on the defaults for a QDialog form created by Qt Creator. Below is my header file:

#ifndef ITEMADD_H
#define ITEMADD_H
#include <QtUiTools>
#include <QtGui>
#include <QWidget>

namespace Ui {
class ItemAdd;
}

class ItemAdd : public QWidget
{
Q_OBJECT

public:
explicit ItemAdd(QWidget *parent = 0);
~ItemAdd();
void slotAddItem();
QString uifile;

private:
Ui::ItemAdd *ui;
};

#endif // ITEMADD_H

Many thanks for any help you can offer, I've looked through some documentation but can't seem to find what I need.

high_flyer
21st December 2010, 16:30
what is defined (which widgets) in your ui form?
If its an empty widget, you will only see and empty widget on your empty widget.

tbscope
21st December 2010, 16:37
And the widget is created on the stack. You might have deleted it already before it was able to show.

peterjb31
21st December 2010, 16:44
At the moment I have a single QPushButton on the form for use in testing.

Added after 6 minutes: