PDA

View Full Version : Possible to call QMouseEvent inside a function?

shuawinn
23rd December 2010, 19:04
I am a beginner, and I have a question about QMouseEvents. I am creating a CAD system on the Parasolid Kernel and I am trying to get my user interface to be able to draw a line using the kernel. I am using a QMouseEvent to feed in the coordinates, and I need two sets of coordinates, but I would like to have the function that is receiving the coordinates call a function that grabs them and I am wondering if this is possible. Here is my code:

void ParaConnectWidget::linedrawer()
{
mousePressEvent(QMouseEvent *)
}

void ParaConnectWidget::mousePressEvent(QMouseEvent *e)
{
//coordinates is a vector that will store the coordinates which will be passed into //another function that utilizes the coordinates to create the line using the kernel

coordinates.append(e->x());
coordinates.append(e->y());
}
I am getting C2059 error which means it isn't even reaching the first mousePressEvent call, so I am wondering if this is just an incorrect way to call the function?

Many thanks.

nroberts
23rd December 2010, 19:15
void ParaConnectWidget::linedrawer()
{
}

That's not legal C++; you don't pass types as function parameters, only variables. You could probably build a QMouseEvent and pass it on, but I doubt that would work as you intend it to.

Most UI libraries have a way to queue new events, I'd assume Qt is no different. I don't know how though and again, I doubt that's what you want anyway.

IMNSHO, this is an incorrect use of the event system. Your linedrawer() function should be constructing something to tell some object to draw a line, something that would also be constructed by the event system when user interaction would result in the same outcome.

shuawinn
23rd December 2010, 19:29
Awesome, that answers one question. So I can't call mousePressEvent as a function inside another function? I wasn't aware that it was a type.

ymalaika
26th December 2010, 10:54