PDA

View Full Version : Load in memory the content of a database

franco.amato
29th December 2010, 22:22
Good morning,
I'm developing a biometric system based on iris recognition and the templates of every user are stored in a database. Unfortunately I have no experience with databases.
I would know if is there a way to read in memory the content of the database in 1 shot ( it's possible in VB IIRC ) intead of looping on every database entry.
For example in my case every entry has 4 fields:

user id - QString
iris code 1 - uchar array[1560]
iris code 2 - uchar array[1560]
iris code 3 - uchar array[1560]

This because if there are too much entries in the database it can take long time to loop on every one.

Best Regards,
Franco

javimoya
29th December 2010, 23:14
your request is annoying...

> I'm developing a biometric system based on iris recognition
impressive !
>I have no experience with databases.
just read 10 minutes of documentation... you dont need more !

you should use QSQLITE (sqlite)
(search in qt assistant for "SQL Database drivers")
You can have that kind of database in memory:

SQLite also supports in-memory databases, simply pass ":memory:" as the database name.

squidge
29th December 2010, 23:35
You really should read some documentation before continuing.

Using a database to store all the information and then ignoring all the benefits of that database and doing all the work yourself (such as searching for specific data) is just nuts. As is looping on every database entry. Design your database schema first before doing a single line of coding. Decide how it will all work. If you don't, I'll only come back to bite you later on.

ChrisW67
30th December 2010, 00:06