PDA

View Full Version : QThread Question

ionutdanila
4th January 2011, 19:06
Hello!

I am new to Qt, my question may seem simple, but I searched all over the Internet and didn't find the right answer.

I have a QThread class:

#include "thread.h"

Thread::Thread(QObject *parent)
: QThread(parent)
{
}

void Thread::run(string url)
{
ui->webView->setUrl(QUrl(url.c_str()));

connect(ui->webView, SIGNAL(loadFinished(bool)), SLOT(onLoadFinished(bool)));
connect(ui->webView, SIGNAL(loadProgress(int)), SLOT(onLoadProgress(int)));
//connect(pd, SIGNAL(canceled()), this, SLOT(cancel()));

exec();
}

Of course, this code doesn't work because I can't access ui from my main class.

So the question is: How can I access the widgets in my main class from this class?

tbscope
4th January 2011, 19:36
You can use events or signals and slots.

But be careful with defining slots. Creating slots in a QThread subclass and calling them doesn't always run them in the thread.
I think the best approach is to create a QObject subclass and move the QObject object to a thread instead of subclassing QThread directly.

karlkar
4th January 2011, 19:53
Another way is by giving the Thread class pointer to the widget with ui for example during construction:

Thread::Thread(QObject *parent, QWidget *window)
: QThread(parent),
pointerToWindowWithUi(window)
{
}

where pointerToWindowWithUi (xD) is thread class member.

tbscope
4th January 2011, 20:11
Another way is by giving the Thread class pointer to the widget with ui for example during construction:

Thread::Thread(QObject *parent, QWidget *window)
: QThread(parent),
pointerToWindowWithUi(window)
{
}

where pointerToWindowWithUi (xD) is thread class member.

That breaks the principle that every UI object should remain in one thread only.

wysota
4th January 2011, 20:26
That breaks the principle that every UI object should remain in one thread only.
Not in one thread, in one particular specific thread that is ran by the QApplication object.