PDA

View Full Version : Overriding QPlainTextEdit's sizeHint with a smaller minimumSize

Phlucious
5th January 2011, 01:54
Greetings! Longtime reader, first time poster (etc). I'm a civil engineer who's been learning to program in Qt (v4.7.0, in Creator 2.0.1) over the past year or so, so I'm probably just missing something obvious.

I have a simple Qt core GUI MainWindow class that I've put together for my lab as follows:

#include <QLabel>
#include <QVBoxLayout>
#include <QPushButton>
#include <QFileDialog>
#include <QFile>
#include <QString>
#include <QCoreApplication>
#include <QPlainTextEdit>

#include "mainwindow.h"

MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent)
: QMainWindow(parent)
{
//disable the Windows maximize button
setWindowFlags( windowFlags() & ~Qt::WindowMaximizeButtonHint );

// create a minimalistic layout with just a text window and button
text_ViewLog = new QPlainTextEdit();
text_ViewLog->setMinimumSize(100,100); //sets the minimimum (and default) widget size (optional)
text_ViewLog->setReadOnly(true); //prevents editing by the user (required when being used as a display widget)
text_ViewLog->setTabChangesFocus(true); //allows user to tab-cycle through the objects (Tab does nothing if false and it's ReadOnly)
text_ViewLog->setLineWrapMode(QPlainTextEdit::NoWrap); //prevents wordwrap so that each line of text is a unique message (optional)
text_ViewLog->setPlainText("Hello"); //sample starter text (optional. note that keeping this blank will clear the display)
text_ViewLog->appendHtml("<b>World</b>"); //sample addition of html-formatted text
// text_ViewLog->setFont(QFont("Courier")); //sample font change
// text_ViewLog->setBackgroundVisible(true);
text_ViewLog->setSizePolicy(QSizePolicy::MinimumExpanding, QSizePolicy::MinimumExpanding);
pushbutton_Start = new QPushButton(tr("Start"));
pushbutton_Start->setFixedWidth(60); //button heights are automatically fixed. width varies with the layout, by default