PDA

View Full Version : Best Qt4 Books in 2011

Reliance
7th January 2011, 06:26
Hi. I'm new to Qt, but I'm a very experienced programmer. I'm looking for a book that will introduce me to Qt4. The existing docs are nice, but sometimes books are also needed.

There seem to be 2 front-runners, the books Lykurg recommended a year and a half ago:

Jasmin Blanchette and Mark Summerfield: C++ GUI Programming with Qt 4 (2nd Edition) (Prentice Hall Open Source Software Development Series)

Johan Thelin: Foundations of Qt® Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source)

By the way, I've noticed that among the e-book formats, the Kindle is not the best for technical books, as it's really designed for linear reading of novels and such. I like the ebook concept as I live in Asia and delivery charges (and delays) are a bear.

ChrisW67
7th January 2011, 07:27
I'll second the first one :)

Once you are past that level you can also try:
Mark Summerfield. Advanced Qt Programming, Creating Great Software with C++ and Qt 4. Prentice Hall.

Lykurg
7th January 2011, 07:52
My favorit is still the book of Johan.

If you are a good programmer and only need the book for a "brief" introduction (as while the normal work life you surley won't need more than the documentation and this forum here ;)), the first edition of C++ GUI Programming with Qt 4 is free for download. (Don't have the link right now, but you'll easily find it) It should be enough to guide you through the basic Qt techniques in a structured manner, so that after that you could easily start programmint with Qt and learn further while coding.

wysota
7th January 2011, 14:16
My favourite is Johan's book too also for reasons anyone who has seen the book can clearly be aware of ;)