PDA

View Full Version : Getting started on a Mac

scarleton
14th January 2011, 02:25
Early in my career as a profession software developer I mucked around with Linux (mid 90's), but that seems like a life time ago. I have been doing Qt programming on Windows for about a year. It is now time to expand to the Mac. But I am a bit out of my element...

Two weeks ago when I first got the Mac, I downloaded a binary from Qt and installed it. This gave me all the Qt GUI apps, Qt Creator, Assistant, Designer, Linguist, etc. Discovered I needed to install XCode, which I did, then I got side tracked.

Today I am back trying to do some basic QML development and I cannot run anything. I found the installation instructions in the Qt docs (http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/install-mac.html). It talks about downloading a tar bar, extracting it, running configuration, building and making (what I recall from the old Linux days). The problem is I recall downloading a dmg and running an install.

So, I drilled down to /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.7.1, and there is no bin directory.

So, now I am totally confussed. I am guessing I have everything ( SDK and source) somewhere on this machine. I figure I simply need to find it, run configure, make, and make install, set the environment variables, etc and life will be good.

The only question is: Where is it:cool:

Sam

MattPhillips
14th January 2011, 02:49
I'm not at my Mac right now but look in your Developer (or Programming, but I think it's the former) top level directory. Qt should be in it and you can make your way to the home directory from there.

Matt

scarleton
14th January 2011, 04:02
Yea, I found that a while back. The main problem I have right now is trying to run a qml file in Qt Creator. The green run button is gray. I am assuming that things are not setup correctly. Further, I am assuming I need to configure/compile/install Qt. The question is:

Where do I go to configure/compile/install Qt upon installing from the dmg file?