PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain this code from C++ GUI Programming with Qt 4?

deejross
19th January 2011, 23:47
I am reading the C++ GUI Programming with Qt4 2nd Edition book trying to learn Qt. I am completely new to Qt and C++. I have experience with C#, Java, VB, Python, and PHP, but C++ is just so new right now that I'm having trouble figuring out how stuff works. The worst part is I don't know how to Google something like this. Anyways, to my question...

I'm on Chapter 5, Creating Custom Widgets where you subclass QSpinBox in order to create HexSpinBox. This is the code I am referring to:

#ifndef HEXSPINBOX_H
#define HEXSPINBOX_H

#include <QSpinBox>

class QRegExpValidator;

class HexSpinBox : public QSpinBox
{
Q_OBJECT
public:
HexSpinBox(QWidget *parent = 0);

protected:
QValidator::State validate(QString &text, int &pos) const;
int valueFromText(const QString &text) const;
QString textFromValue(int value) const;

private:
QRegExpValidator *validator;
};

#endif

My question is about the line
class QRegExpValidator; What does this line do? Why am I not doing something like a
#include <QRegExpValidator> instead? This is probably a trivial thing for someone with more experience, so I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm sure I'll have several more simple questions as I keep reading.

Zlatomir
20th January 2011, 00:08
My question is about the line
class QRegExpValidator; What does this line do?

That line is declaring a class (it is called a forward declaration), basically you just tell the compiler that you have a class called QRegExpValidator and it (the compiler) will get the definition a little bit later, more exactly in the .cpp file.

You can use that technique, but be careful you can't create objects, you can only declare pointers and initialize the pointers only after the class has been defined by you or you included the framework file which define that class.

Why am I not doing something like a