PDA

View Full Version : Converting u_char to QString

merlvingian
28th September 2006, 02:43
Hello,

I have searched the forums here and could not find an answer and what I could find on the Internet was run through translators destroying meaning.

I need to convert a (const u_char *varname) into a QString and then back again. I scoured the Qt4 docs and could not find anything relating to a u_char or conversion method.

What I could translate from some forums was to use reinterpret_cast<> but could not implement it correctly in this situation.

Any help would be appreciated.

wysota
28th September 2006, 06:09
QString string = QString((const char*)varname); // directly from the string
QString string = QString::fromLocal8Bit((const char*)varname); // or using local encoding

merlvingian
28th September 2006, 15:25
I guess I am a newbie :D Sorry for posting in the wrong section.

Thank you for the response and will try it out once I get back to a machine where I can access Qt. But from the look of the code should it not throw an error on char to u_char conversion?

I guess my question then evolves into using depriciated c style type casting in a c++ program. QString seems very flexible does anyone know why such trickery is needed for something as common as a uchar?

wysota
28th September 2006, 15:38
I guess I am a newbie :D Sorry for posting in the wrong section.
No problem.

But from the look of the code should it not throw an error on char to u_char conversion?
No. u_char is unsigned char, so casting u_char* to const char* is perfectly legitimate.

I guess my question then evolves into using depriciated c style type casting in a c++ program. QString seems very flexible does anyone know why such trickery is needed for something as common as a uchar?
Probably the conversion between u_char* and const char* is not handled by your compiler automatically.