PDA

View Full Version : Query about the mouseReleaseEvent of a control on a Widget

adyb
28th January 2011, 15:35
Hi,

I am a complete novice to both C++ and QT Creator so please bear with me on this. I have, however, been using Visual Basic for some years but that is not suitable for this minor project.

I have a program which will allow the user to dump a file and examine the contants using various data types. The central widget, amongst other things, contains two QTextEdit boxes. I would like to be able to trap the mouseReleaseEvent in one of these to allow for automatic data range selection. I can trap the main widgets event but don't see a way of trapping the TextEdit event.

Any help you could give would be appreciated, preferably with a brief example if possible.

Thanks,

AdyB

high_flyer
28th January 2011, 16:02
I can trap the main widgets event but don't see a way of trapping the TextEdit event.
The same way?
Both widgets derive the mouse handlers from QWidget.

Or I just don't understand what you mean by that.

adyb
28th January 2011, 16:36
Hi,

I probably just don't know how to access derived functions etc. My books aren't too helpful on the subject. I am probably also confusing slots with events as described by Qt. That's VB for ya!

If I declare the slot in the widget class and supply the code in the widgets code section, I can click anywhere on the blank form and get a reaction (in my case at the moment a simple qDebug() message). I just can't see a way of accessing the event on the QTextBox. It's probably because I'm completely new to this and should go away and read through some C++ books too but any help you can supply here would be appreciated.

AdyB

high_flyer
28th January 2011, 18:19
It's probably because I'm completely new to this and should go away and read through some C++ books