PDA

View Full Version : First Program - expected class-name before '{' token

tnowacoski
28th January 2011, 20:40
I am sure this has been asked before but I am a newbie to QT and just cannot seem to figure this out. I have a small program with a mainwindow and a modal dialog. When I try to compile QT barks about expecting a class-name before '{' but my code appears to be the same as some working examples that I have seen?!? Can anyone help be figure out what I am doing wrong? Thanks!

Lykurg
28th January 2011, 21:01
Well you have more errors than that in your code. For the one you mentioned: Qt/C++ is case sensitive! It is not
Ui::Signonshould be
Ui::signon. The other errors are up to you ;)

tnowacoski
28th January 2011, 21:04
I know, I have messed around with this code so much, I am not even sure which way is up anymore.

tbscope
29th January 2011, 05:15
Qt is primarily a C++ api.
Therefor, you might want to start with basic C++ first.

tnowacoski
30th January 2011, 01:45
Can anyone suggest a place online where I can see and work through an example that uses multiple Ui's, and a main window? I have the C++ GUI Programming With QT4 book but to me there seem to be many holes in the teaching. I have programmed in VB for years and I am trying to make the transition to C++.

stampede
30th January 2011, 02:17
Basic usage:
main window examples (http://doc.qt.nokia.com/latest/examples-mainwindow.html)

(...) uses multiple Ui's, and a main window?
It's rather easy if you know how to create a widget that uses Ui form created with Designer.
Lets say that you have n forms, form_1.ui, form_2.ui, ..., form_n.ui.
foreach form f:
1) Add f into .pro file.
2) create and add to .pro a class that setups ui for f (include header "ui_form_n.h" and call 'setupUi()' ), example of n-th class (depends on names you use in .ui file, 'WidgetForm_n' is the name of main ui widget):

#ifndef _WIDGET_N_H__
#define _WIDGET_N_H__

#include <QWidget>
#include "ui_form_n.ui"