PDA

View Full Version : Non-Gui thread blocking gui

Valheru
1st October 2006, 13:57
The following code is a slot. When calling it using a signal from an object running in the GUI thread, the GUI blocks until the slot is finished executing. Which is a bit strange, because this code is running in it's own thread, so it shouldn't do that, right?
Also, it blocks until timeWaited == timeout*1000 (10 seconds in this case ) which it shouldn't, because the moment the thread connects to the server it changes the state of st into CONNECTED or LOGGED_IN. So obviously something is going wrong, but since this is my first time ever using threads I'm a bit lost.

void Connection::deferredWriteCommand( const QString& command )
{
if( !isRunning() ){
start();
}
bool done = false;
int timeWaited = 0;
while( !done && timeWaited < timeout*1000 ){
switch( st ){
case DISCONNECTED:
wait( 1000 );
timeWaited += 1000;
break;
case CONNECTED:
if( parent->getAuthorization() ){
wait( 1000 );
timeWaited += 1000;
}else{
socket->write( command.toLatin1(), (quint64) command.length() );
socket->flush();
done = true;
}
break;
case LOGGED_IN:
socket->write( command.toLatin1(), (quint64) command.length() );
socket->flush();
done = true;
break;
default:
break;
};
if( done ){
break;
}
}
}

wysota
1st October 2006, 14:16
What is this Connection class? Subclass of QThread? If so, then you're doing a strange thing here:

if( !isRunning() ){
start();
}

Valheru
1st October 2006, 14:24
Yes, it's a sublass of QThread. You're not allowed to run it from itself? Well, that never gets called anyway, since the code that starts the thread is called from another class, and looks like this :

if( !server.at( index )->connection( i )->isRunning() ){
server.at( index )->connection( i )->start( QThread::NormalPriority );
}

wysota
1st October 2006, 14:45
You're not allowed to run it from itself?