PDA

View Full Version : Qt for programs on Windows CE



kyut
13th February 2011, 14:28
Hi I have two minicomputers using Windows Embedded CE v6.
I want to make some programs that run on them.
Normal executables however dont work since windows ce uses net compact framework.
Ive been told that Qt supports wince. I made a simple program(or rather a window with six buttons), but it didnt run.
Ive downloaded a SDK for wince, but I dont know how to use it with Qt.

So I have two questions:
1. How do I use a Qt SDK? How do I open it with the program?
2. Is there any tutorial or walkthrough out there that can help me?

nish
13th February 2011, 15:22
start here
http://doc.trolltech.com/latest/install-wince.html

kyut
13th February 2011, 17:22
Thank you for the help.
Where do I write these?

C:
cd \Qt\4.7.1
configure -platform win32-msvc2005 -xplatform wincewm50pocket-msvc2005

set INCLUDE=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\ce\include;C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\wce500\Windows Mobile 5.0 Pocket PC SDK\Include\Armv4i
set LIB=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\ce\lib\armv4i;C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\wce500\Windows Mobile 5.0 Pocket PC SDK\Lib\ARMV4I
set PATH=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\ce\bin\x86_arm;%PATH%They dont look like cmd commands.

nish
14th February 2011, 07:02
they surely look like cmd commands to me.

kyut
16th February 2011, 09:44
I finnaly got it!:) I should write Qt's directory instead of
C:
cd \Qt\4.7.1
But then when I write the next line
configure -platform win32-msvc2005 -xplatform wincewm50pocket-msvc2005
It displays me an error: ''configure' is not recognized as external or internal command, operable program or batch file.'
May be because I dont have the folder 4.7.1 in qt's directory? Should I create it and then enter the command while Im in it?

nish
16th February 2011, 09:55
I finnaly got it!:) I should write Qt's directory instead of
C:
cd \Qt\4.7.1
But then when I write the next line
configure -platform win32-msvc2005 -xplatform wincewm50pocket-msvc2005
It displays me an error: ''configure' is not recognized as external or internal command, operable program or batch file.'
May be because I dont have the folder 4.7.1 in qt's directory? Should I create it and then enter the command while Im in it?

seriously.. how many years of experience do you have in programming?

kyut
16th February 2011, 11:30
seriously.. how many years of experience do you have in programming?
I have no expirience in Qt and also almost no experience in cmd - so I guess the answer is 0.
But Im not new to programming.

kyut
18th February 2011, 09:31
Okay, after executing this command in random subdirectiories I finnaly got this:

(some long output)
creating qmake...
execute: file or path is not found(nmake)
execute: file or path is not found(nmake)
Cleaning qmake failed, return code -1
This is in the qt subdirectory. So... which files should I place in that directory?:confused: Yes, I know it's about nmake, but Im not sure if it requires a DLL or other kind of file or even multiple files.

nish
18th February 2011, 10:49
lets go step by step.

1. unzip the qt sources to C:\Qt\4.7.1

open visual studio command prompt.
cd 4.7.1
configure

tell us the exact steps and contents of the directory.

kyut
19th February 2011, 17:59
I dont have visual studio command prompt, cant I simply use cmd?

kyut
23rd February 2011, 09:04
Please anyone? This is rather confusing to me. :s

kyut
25th February 2011, 19:53
So I finally executed these functions or whatever they are. I tried to make a test application, but I got this in the Compile Output:

Running build steps for project dano...
Configuration unchanged, skipping qmake step.
Starting: "C:/Qt/4.7.1/bin/jom.exe"
C:\Qt\4.7.1\bin\jom.exe -f Makefile.Debug


cl -c -nologo -Zm200 -Zc:wchar_t- -DDEBUG -D_DEBUG -Zi -MDd -EHs-c- -W3 -w34100 -w34189 -DUNDER_CE -DWINCE -D_WINDOWS -D_UNICODE -DUNICODE -D_WIN32 -DQT_NO_PRINTER -DQT_NO_PRINTDIALOG -D_WIN32_WCE=0x501 -DARMV4I -D_ARMV4I_ -Darmv4i -D_ARM_ -DARM -D_M_ARM -DARM -D__arm__ -DQ_OS_WINCE_WM -DQT_NO_PRINTER -DQT_NO_PRINTDIALOG -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NO_DYNAMIC_CAST -I"..\..\..\qt\qt\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\qt\qt\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\qt\qt\include" -I"..\..\..\qt\qt\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"..\dano" -I"." -I"..\..\..\qt\qt\mkspecs\wincewm50pocket-msvc2005" -Fodebug\ @C:\DOCUME~1\a\LOCALS~1\Temp\main.obj.3744.0.jom





jom 0.9.4 - empower your cores






jom 0.9.4 - empower your cores





'cl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,



operable program or batch file.



command failed with exit code 9009


command failed with exit code 2

The process "C:/Qt/4.7.1/bin/jom.exe" exited with code %2.
Error while building project dano (target: Desktop)
When executing build step 'Make'Is anyone willing to help me out with this error? Im quite new to Qt.

dpatel
26th February 2011, 03:27
Can you tell me from where did you download win ce sdk. I am also looking for a similar setup. Once I get the SDK I can help you with the compilation. I have build Qt for windows xp and mac.

kyut
26th February 2011, 16:46
here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?familyid=06111A3A-A651-4745-88EF-3D48091A390B&displaylang=en
Ive read it is usable with qt: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/requirements-wince.html

dpatel
26th February 2011, 17:43
Hi Kyut,

Thanks for the link. I have downloaded Windows Mobile 6 Professional SDK Refresh.msi and am trying to install it but it complains that VS 2005 SP1 or later not found. I do have Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Do I need VS 2005? I am using Windows 7 on a 64 bit machine.

D

kyut
27th February 2011, 08:11
Visual Studio 2010 does not support mobile application development for versions of Windows Phone prior to Windows Phone OS 7.0.
So yes, I guess you need an earlier version of visual studio.

dpatel
28th February 2011, 03:59
Thats not good. I guess I will get VS2008 trial and try to set it up. I will get back to you once I have VS2008 and try to compile Qt.
Thanks

dpatel
1st March 2011, 15:18
Finally I was able to compile Qt for Win Mobile 6 by following the steps here (http://doc.trolltech.com/latest/install-wince.html).
You have to run all the commands in Visual studio's command prompt.

kyut
1st March 2011, 19:44
Where do I start Visual studio's command prompt from?

dpatel
2nd March 2011, 05:58
Start Visual Studio.
Selects Tools Menu -> Visual Studio Command Prompt.

kyut
3rd March 2011, 13:32
Thanks :)
Now I got this error: "Creating a shadow build of Qt requires perl to be in the PATH environment"
Does this mean I have to install perl? Or should I update Qt?(Im using version 4.7.1 and the example uses 4.7.2)