PDA

View Full Version : problems simply compiling QtCreator on windows

Amelie
23rd February 2011, 10:07
Hello,

I just wrote my first QtCreator UI and am now trying to compile it, but am not getting anywhere. The purpose is to write a python (2.7) plugin for Quantum GIS, but I can't get a .py file. I am completely new to Qt, and pretty new to Python/Programming.
I am running QtCreator 2.0.1 (QtDesigner 4.7.0) Windows 7 (in VBox on a Mac 10.6 host).
I did run "qmake filename.pro" (in the Qt command prompt, but not running make right after) and now have the following files:
filename.pro
mainwindow.ui
mainwindow.h
main.cpp
mainwindow.cpp
filename.qrc (empty)
folder: filename-build-desktop (empty)

Where do I go from here? i am completely lost and can't seem to find anything online (though there is tons of stuff, but I just don't understand what to work with).

I did look into mingw and noticed that in QT/2010.05/mingw/bin there's no qmake.exe

Do I need to have the qt-creator-2.0.1-src? I did download and unpack it, but trying to move it anywhere but the Vbox shared folder I get an error msg

Thank you so much for any help.

P.S. Should this be my second post, I'm sincerely sorry. I posted one yesterday, but the browser crashed and now I couldn't find the post anywhere, so I'd assume it didn't go through.

franz
23rd February 2011, 10:51
qmake.exe is not part of the MinGW tool kit. It should be found in QT/2010.5/qt/bin though.

Amelie
23rd February 2011, 14:37
By now I actually got a wee bit further. But I still can't go all the way. Help!

I have run qmake and am now clicking the "build" button. The folder thats created as target contains
debug (folder)
release (folder)
Makefile.Debug
Makefile.Release
ui_mainwindow.h

(note: I'm running Qt in German, I translated the parts in German, but they may not be word by word as they'd appear in English).

Executing Build steps for the projec filename...