PDA

View Full Version : Qt 4.1.4 on VS2005 error- cannot open input file 'qtmain.lib'

Ashish
6th October 2006, 16:56
Hi,

I recently installed Qt open source version 4.1.4 on my windows xp workstation along with the visual studio compiler patch as per the instructions on 'http://qtnode.net/wiki/Qt4_with_Visual_Studio '. I already have visual studio 2005 pro installed on my workstation. I tried the hello world example from the same webpage, but it came back with the following error:

fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'qtmain.lib'

Can anyone please help me figure out what's wrong here? I am a complete novice in Qt and would appreciate all help.

Thanks,
Ashish

jpn
6th October 2006, 17:11
Are you testing your installation by compiling the HelloWorld example from the command line as told? What are the exact commands you execute?

jpn
6th October 2006, 17:12
Please, don't double post.

Ashish
6th October 2006, 17:34
Thanks for replying jpn. Yes I am testing my installation with the helloworld example. I don't know if there is any other way of compiling the code and was therefore following the command line compiling as per the qtnode webpage using qmake.

I copied that example in a directory ,went into that directory from the command line and executed the following commands:

1) qmake -project -t vcapp -o helloworld.pro ( to create a helloworld.pro file)
2) qmake ( to create a .vcproj file)

Then I double clicked on .vcproj file to open it in visual studio and build it there when it gave me that error.

Here is what my helloworld.pro file looks like after I execute the 1st command as above
-------------------
TEMPLATE = vcapp
TARGET +=
DEPENDPATH +=
INCLUDEPATH +=

# Input
SOURCES += helloworld.cpp
------------------

Before running the test example I have added 2 environment variables (in my system variables list) as per the instructions on the qtnode webpage from where I installed the whole thing and they are: