PDA

View Full Version : Help with QThread

manucorrales
8th October 2006, 15:42
Hi, i am new in thread programming with c++. Ive used threads in Java.

My problem is this:

I have a class with several methods. All this methods MUST be runned as thread because attemps to connect to external devices and i dont want to block my app. If i subclass QThread then i must have a run method reimplemented. Now the ugliest solution would be a huge case or something like that to call the method i want. But have to be another way. In hava there are anonymous classes so is easier. How can i solve this??

Thanks very much.

jacek
8th October 2006, 16:38
If i subclass QThread then i must have a run method reimplemented. Now the ugliest solution would be a huge case or something like that to call the method i want.
I'm not sure what's the problem since there is no difference between C++ and Java in that matter (except for the built-in monitor, which is present in Java).

You can always avoid switch statements using a command pattern (i.e. with a set of objects resembling jobs/commands and a queue with proper synchronization).

manucorrales
8th October 2006, 17:07
Thanks. Can you be a little more specific on the Command Pattern? I have this:

Class A
{
void method1(){};
void method2(){};
void method3(){};
}

and when i call a method of an object of this class, must run in background. The only solution i find so far is to make an inner sublclass of QThread inside each method and in the reimplemented run method put my code. Then create myThread and call start.

manucorrales
8th October 2006, 17:13
Maybe i am doing this wrong. My initial problem is this: i have to call a methos wich tries to connect to an fiscal printer. I would like to show a dialog that says: "Trying to cennect, please wait" blocking the user but with the possibility of cancel. While showing this dialog, the method i running and trying to connect. Then, when the connection fails or success do something else.