PDA

View Full Version : How can I get address of wireless router

dpatel
13th March 2011, 18:03
Hi,

I want to write an application which will listen for http requests.
I have limited knowledge about networking so let me know if I am thinking it correctly.

I am thinking that I will create QTcpServer listening at a particular port and when I get the request I can process it. But my PC is connected to internet via a wifi router. How can I get IP address of the wifi router and how can I setup the router so that it will forward request to my application running on my PC.

Let me know if there is another way to do it.

Thanks

wysota
14th March 2011, 10:24
What do you need the router address for?

dpatel
14th March 2011, 11:23
Hi wysota,

This is what I want to achieve.

I want my application (lets call it Listener) to listen to http request from a webapp. Listener is running on a pc which is connected to internet via wifi router. The Ip address of pc on which Listener is running is 192.168.*.* (LAN address). Now if the webapp wants to send the request to Listener what is the best way to do it.

I am thinking that I can ask the webapp to send the request to wifi router which will then forward(I am not sure how the router will forward request to Listener) it to Listener at a particular port where it would be expecting a request. That is why I need the ip address of router. Is that possible? Is there any better way to achieve that?

Thanks

wysota
14th March 2011, 12:23
I am thinking that I can ask the webapp to send the request to wifi router which will then forward(I am not sure how the router will forward request to Listener) it to Listener at a particular port where it would be expecting a request. That is why I need the ip address of router. Is that possible? Is there any better way to achieve that?