PDA

View Full Version : COM Objects on Windows 7 with 4.7.2

kwire
15th March 2011, 16:40
Good morning all. I've been using QT off and on for several years and have always been able to find answers to
my problems here on the forum. So thanks for that... But I am stumpped this time.

In my application I am printing Labels on a Dymo LabelWriter 400. I used the type library and opened a
command box and ran "dumpcpp DYMO.DLS.SDK.tlb -o dymosdk". That generated the dymosdk.h and
dymosdk.cpp files which I link into my application.

I have been using Creator 2.0.1 and Qt 4.7.1 on a laptop running Vista (32bit) and it has been working fine.
Then last weekend I set up an new desktop machine running Windows 7 (64bit) and installed Qt 4.7.2 and Creator 2.1.0.

I installed the same DYMO software (& SDK) as on the Vista machine.

Here is the code:

dymoAddIn = new DYMO_DLS_SDK::ISDKDymoAddin();
// dymoAddIn->setControl("{09DAFAE2-8EB0-11D2-8E5D-00A02415E90F}");
dymoAddIn->setControl("Dymo.DymoAddIn");
dymoAddIn->Open("d:/abe/catalog/abe_catalog/BinLabelKAWDIB-New.label");

dymoLabels = new DYMO_DLS_SDK::ISDKDymoLabels;
// dymoLabels->setControl("{3AAD7661-8F83-11D2-8E5D-00A02415E90F}");
dymoLabels->setControl("Dymo.DymoLabels");

When I run the application it chokes with

CoCreateInstance failure (Class not registered)
QAxBase::setControl: requested control Dymo.DymoAddIn could not be instantiated

on first setControl() method, and

CoCreateInstance failure (Not enough storage is available to complete this operation.)
QAxBase::setControl: requested control Dymo.DymoLabels could not be instantiated

on the second setControl() method.

I have verified in the registry that the Guid is correct for both objects. The Dymo Label Software works just fine.
I believe it uses the same COM objects I am trying to use. And as I said the same code works on my laptop running
Vista using either the Guid or the name of the object.