22nd March 2011, 00:55
I have never tried this before, so in a new form I put into the constructor:

model = new QStandardItemModel(this);
ui->tvSpots->setModel(model); // QTableView
header = new QHeaderView(Qt::Horizontal, this);
ui->tvSpots->setHorizontalHeader(header);
model->setHeaderData(0, Qt::Horizontal, "Click Connect to start");
ui->tvSpots->show();

The table view shows up, but not the header.
Any ideas?

schnitzel
22nd March 2011, 03:06
try adding:

ui->tvSpots->horizontalHeader()->setVisible(true);

and try QString("Click Connect to start") for the third argument to setHeaderData().

I'm using code similar to yours and that's the only difference I can see.

waynew
27th March 2011, 00:53
Thanks Schnitzel, but unfortunately, that didn't do it.

I'm still working on it, but I added a debug and it says the setHeaderData returned false.
No idea why yet.
I have used this same type of code in a function in my mainwindow and it works perfectly.
So for the moment, I am stumped.

schnitzel
28th March 2011, 17:48
can you attach a minimal project that contains the problem or show the entire code?

wysota
28th March 2011, 18:46
Does the model contain any columns?

waynew
28th March 2011, 23:15
The model does not contain any columns at the time I attempt to set the header.
However, I worked around the problem by using setHorizontalHeaderLabels and this is working ok.

Thanks folks.

wysota
28th March 2011, 23:58
The model does not contain any columns at the time I attempt to set the header.
So no headers will be visible because there are no columns in the model. If you at least set a column count, the header might have something to display.

schnitzel
29th March 2011, 00:38
Does the model contain any columns?

and wysota strikes again :)

@waynew: Not sure why I deserved a thanks... you should give it to wysota.

waynew
29th March 2011, 00:59