PDA

View Full Version : How do I get viewing area notifications on QGraphicsView?

Goug
31st March 2011, 22:02
Hello, everyone,

This is my first post to QtCentre, so hopefully, I'm in the right place. I've been working with Qt for a couple of months, and it's the most fun I've had at work in a very, very long time.

The issue I'm struggling with is how to get notified when the viewing area of QGraphicsView changes. I would expect that this is a common need and am surprised that it doesn't seem to be as easy as everything else in Qt.

The QGraphicsView has panning and scroll bars enabled and zooming as well, so I need to be notified whenever the viewing area changes (not the scene content...just the viewing area). Additionally, since the viewing area changes when scroll bars appear, I need to know that as well.

Thank you,
Doug

wysota
31st March 2011, 23:59
Why do you need such notification?

Goug
2nd April 2011, 02:09
I have an application with a type "heads-up" mechanism where items in the graphics scene need to stay positioned within the view. The heads-up items are graphics scene items, and that's how I need them to be. Essentially, whenever the viewing area changes, I need to reposition/resize the heads-up items to always remain on view in a fixed location. I've experimented with a variety of other mechanisms, and the current approach that I'm working with seems to be the best choice so far.

I have the scaling working, but I need to fix panning, which requires that I know when the viewing area has been panned.

Thanks,
Doug

And yes, I realize this breaks the concept of being able to use multiple views on a single scene. While that's unfortunate, it's not terribly important for this application, and the sacrifice is worth it.

wysota
2nd April 2011, 09:44