PDA

View Full Version : Newbie help again please! (Win XP SP3)

mike phillips
11th April 2011, 09:45
A year or more ago I wrestled as a complete beginner with QT/QT Creator and finally managed to do what I wanted.

I have now installed the latest Creator 4.7.0 which is installed in C:\qt\2010.05

So far so good. System auto-detects QT in path. However, when I try to run the 'animated tiltles' example I get 2 hard warnings -
cannot find -lqtguid and a similar one.

If I try to run a previously successful programme built under the old QT I get the same without the 'd' on the end.

Most google hits seem to cover this problem with Arm installations and Suse, and I cannot find the problem anywhere for Windows.

Wrestling help again much appreciated. Not much assistance on the QT help pages. Please be gentle!

high_flyer
11th April 2011, 10:15
You need to specify in your PATH (system variable) the dierctoy in which your Qt dlls are.

mike phillips
11th April 2011, 11:05
Which dlls? I already have \bin in the path - are these not the ones?

wysota
11th April 2011, 11:20
Dlls with "d" at the end are debug versions which you apparently don't have in bin. Either build the app in release mode or provide debug versions of the libraries.

mike phillips
11th April 2011, 11:39
It would be a great help if someone could guide me on what I need to download and install!

I started with the SDK but got repetitive file hash errors in the download. I then ran the 'Creator' install package. That appears to be wrong too. Please note it is not just the debug dll's that are 'missing' - from post #1

"If I try to run a previously successful programme built under the old QT I get the same without the 'd' on the end."

Why on earth is an install programme not complete, or if I need to download something else, where am I guided on this on the QT pages?

wysota
11th April 2011, 12:14
I started with the SDK but got repetitive file hash errors in the download.