PDA

View Full Version : COM port reading with Qextserialport is creating problem:

pupqt
27th April 2011, 07:03
I am new to QT programming. Serial communication application is being developed. For this Qextserialport classes are successfully conformed with QT classes and is being utilised for developing application. writing to port and Reading from port are incorporated in same application. Am able to write all the bytes in a msgpckt to port but reading from that port is creating the problem. It can only read one byte when read function of qextserialport is called. First byte is read properly rest its showing junk values.
How to debug it??? Is the method am following is correct??? here is the piece of code

Writing to port (COM1) : here is the code
///////////////////////////////////

openflag = port ->isOpen();
if(openflag)
{
int i = port->write((const char *) &Hmi_statusMsg, sizeof(Hmi_statusMsg));

qDebug("Transmitted bytes =%d",i);
}

else
{
qDebug("COM1 port is not open");
}

//////////////////////////////////////End code ///
Hmi_statusMsg in above code is Msg packet, each feilds are of type unsigned char, having data : MsgHdr = 0x75
Data1 = 0x08
Data2 = 0x02
Data3 = 0x40
Data4 = 0x10
chksum = 0xcd

Reading from port and displaying it on text-edit box: here is the code

char buff [1024];
int numBytes;

numBytes = port->bytesAvailable();
if(numBytes > 0)
{

int i = port->read(buff, numBytes);

buff[i] = '\0';
QString msg = (QString) buff;

received_msg->append(msg);
received_msg->ensureCursorVisible();
qDebug("bytes available: %d", numBytes);
qDebug("received: %d", i);

ui->textEdit->setText(msg);

}

else
{
qDebug("bytes not available: %d", numBytes);
}

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Transmitter output::::

Status Msg header = 75
Status Msg Data1 = 8
Status Msg Data2 = 2
Status Msg Data3 = 40
Status Msg Data4 = 10
Status Msg chksum = cd
Transmitted bytes =6

Receiver Output::::

bytes available: 6
received: 6
RCVD Status Msg header = u