PDA

View Full Version : Using QtDesigner highlighter in my own application

elcuco
4th May 2011, 23:12
I see that this question raises a lot, and quite frankly besides scintilla is no reliable way to have in my application a simple widget which displays a text editor with syntax highlighter. Writing one is a very tedious job, and then maintaining the language definitions is a huge problem.

I tried writing a QSyntaxHighlighter that knows how to load the KatePart definitions but it seemed like a lot of work, which as a part time hobbyist I can not spare. Then I found out that QtCreator 2.2 and above have this code. But I have not seen anyone who managed to rip this off that hugs ass project.

I started working on this, slowly about two weeks ago and now I managed to load a simple langues (I started with SQL which does not include another definition). The code I use for the demo is quite simple, and not connected to the QtCreator application:

#include <QApplication>
#include <QMainWindow>
#include <QPlainTextEdit>
#include <QFile>
#include <QIODevice>

#include "formats.h"
#include "highlighter.h"
#include "highlightdefinition.h"
#include "highlighterexception.h"
#include "qate/highlightdefinitionhandler-v2.h"

void load_text(QString fe, QPlainTextEdit *te );
QSharedPointer<TextEditor::Internal::HighlightDefinition> get_highlighter_definition(QString definitionFileName);

int main( int argc, char* argv[] )
{
QApplication app( argc, argv );
QString definitionFileName = "/usr/share/kde4/apps/katepart/syntax/sql.xml";
QSharedPointer<TextEditor::Internal::HighlightDefinition> def = get_highlighter_definition(definitionFileName);

QMainWindow *mw = new QMainWindow;
QPlainTextEdit *te = new QPlainTextEdit(mw);
TextEditor::Internal::Highlighter *hl = new TextEditor::Internal::Highlighter;

hl->configureFormat(TextEditor::Internal::Highlighter: :Normal, Formats::instance().charFormat() );