PDA

View Full Version : Running example project with mingw gives "... exited with code -1073741792" error



sibercekirge
26th May 2011, 13:49
Hello All,
I have formatted my windows recently. After that I installed QT SDK 1.1 several times but i get "... exited with code -1073741792" error with example projects.
The summary of my situation:
Installed Visual Studio 2008
installed latest mingw package.
added ;C:\MinGW\bin to PATH variable.
Installed QT SDK 1.1
diagramscene example project works with microsoft compiler as target
diagramscene example project doesnt work with mingw compiler as target
trying to open another example project does not open exp:elasticnodes
C:\QtSDK\Examples\4.7\graphicsview\elasticnodes-build-desktop\debug\elasticnodes.exe exited with code -1073741792

I have searched for the error code but can't find anything.
I don't know where did I go wrong.

My system is XP Home SP3. Kaspersky Antivirus installed.
I have disabled antivirus while installing the SDK. also disabled while building the apps.

high_flyer
26th May 2011, 15:46
Installed Visual Studio 2008
installed latest mingw package.
added ;C:\MinGW\bin to PATH variable.
It looks like you are trying to run a MinGW built application with VS built DLLs or the other way around.
Make you sure are running MinGW built exe with MinGW built Qt or VS built exe with VS built Qt.

sibercekirge
26th May 2011, 16:08
I am using Qt creator as ide. I am installing Qt SDK without changing setup options. I tried installing QT SDK before installing VS , I got the same error.
To be clear I dont understand your answer exactly.
"- It looks like you are trying to run a MinGW built application with VS built DLLs "
In the Ide I choose an example , after that I choose target -- Qt 4.7.3 for Desktop - MinGW 4.4 (Qt SDK) Debug
Push the green RUN button , I got the error
C:\QtSDK\Examples\4.7\graphicsview\elasticnodes-build-desktop\debug\elasticnodes.exe exited with code -1073741792
then I change the target to Qt 4.7.3 for Desktop - MSVC2008 (Qt SDK) Debug
App runs.
I dont use VS for coding. Just by installing it I got another target (alternative to MinGW)

high_flyer
26th May 2011, 16:17
In the Ide I choose an example , after that I choose target -- Qt 4.7.3 for Desktop - MinGW 4.4 (Qt SDK) Debug
Push the green RUN button , I got the error
C:\QtSDK\Examples\4.7\graphicsview\elasticnodes-build-desktop\debug\elasticnodes.exe exited with code -1073741792
then I change the target to Qt 4.7.3 for Desktop - MSVC2008 (Qt SDK) Debug
App runs.
Yes as I thought, you where trying to run VS built exe against MinGW built Qt.
It looks you have both version installed.


To be clear I dont understand your answer exactly.
MinGW is a compiler.
When install VS, the MS compiler gets install too (cl.exe).

Both compilers produce binaries which are not compatible (or at least not out of the box).
So you need to pay attention, when you build a project, with which compiler and Qt SDK you do it.
If you are not using MS tools for building, then install only the MinGW Qt SDK and binaries, this will eliminate any such confusion in the future.

sibercekirge
26th May 2011, 17:59
Thanks, I will uninstall and reinstall as you instructed. after the installation I will write the result to this post.

Added after 1 35 minutes:

I unistalled QT SDK. then reinstalled with custom settings . I deselected options related to Visual Studio. Now I have one compiler target MinGW only.
I opened an example file an run it. I got the same error.
C:\QtSDK\Examples\4.7\graphicsview\collidingmice-build-desktop\debug\collidingmice.exe exited with code -1073741792
I am planning to do clean XP installation. After installing drivers I will install QT SDK then try runnig an example project. I will inform forum readers about the result.
Maybe the problem is about one of the programs I installed.

high_flyer
27th May 2011, 08:38
I deselected options related to Visual Studio.
I guess you mean the online installer.
I never used it, so I can't comment on it.

I just no saw this comment there:

* Based on MinGW (download sources) tool set. Does not support VS compiler.

Another thing you might want to check is your system variables.
Put the MinGW paths before the VS ones, it could be that your examples link to some VS DLLs that MinGW also implements, just because they come earlier in the order of the system paths.

sibercekirge
27th May 2011, 08:48
I used offline installer.
"Put the MinGW paths before the VS ones".
I put mingw path to first place.
I will make a clean install in a few days. I will try without VS installed.

sibercekirge
29th May 2011, 10:27
Here is what I have done,

1-Installed XP Home TR (orjinal cd+SP3+mp11+ie7 integrated)
I didnt do other windows updates
2-installed drivers(downloded latest drivers form asus)
3-install mingw mingw-get-inst-20110316
set path variable
PATH
C:\MinGW\bin;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%S ystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\
4-Install QT SDK 1.1 Offline installer Qt_SDK_Windows_offline_v1_1_en
I didnt make any changes setup options.
5-In maemo part of installation i got error messages I ignored them.(I dont need mobile part of SDK)
6-Setup finished. I openened graphicsview collingmice example and run it .
I got same error:
Starting C:\QtSDK\Examples\4.7\graphicsview\collidingmice-build-desktop\debug\collidingmice.exe...
C:\QtSDK\Examples\4.7\graphicsview\collidingmice-build-desktop\debug\collidingmice.exe exited with code -1073741792

As a summary:
I was using QT qt-sdk-win-opensource-2010.05 without problem. I got sata DVDRW error frequently. so I changed my mother board (ASUS P5LD-X 1333 something like that). added 2GB of ram.
Currently I got ASUS P5KPL-VM.
I tried two of my rams one by one. no solution
I updated MB's BIOS to 1003. no solution.

I tried on another pc:
XP Pro Licencing Kit (orjinal cd+SP3+mp11+ie7 integrated)
Disabled antivir antivirus
Intel 775p 3.0 ghz
2x512mb ram
GA-8I915G-MF 775p,PCIEx,ddr400
no solution

Another try
orjinal xp home SP2 TR (orjinal cd not modified by any means)
6 step installation as above
no solution

I think my installation package maybe errors in it because of dowload process.
Can I obtain MD5 checksum for this package to learn if it is ok.

sibercekirge
31st May 2011, 17:33
Problem solved. I unistalled qt SDK 1.1 and installed Qt SDK 1.1.1 with maemo and symbian deselected. examples runs without problem.
Thank you high_flyer